Weight Loss Journey

It’s been a while. I know, I know.

Like many phases of my life, whenever I’m going through something big, I find myself coming right back to blogging. It is so very therapeutic to me, it helps me through whatever comes my way.

So what’s up now? Well, I’m turning 36yrs old this year and I have decided that I am done living my life struggling with how I feel about my weight. What does that mean? It means that I will be having weight loss surgery soon.

I am no stranger to judgment. I have lived my entire life with someone judging me, if not for my weight, then for how I chose to live my life or how I handled my infertility journey. I’m sure this time around will be no different.

I have to confess, just like the misconceptions I had about IVF, I too had many misconceptions over weight loss surgery. But guess what? I took my ignorant, uneducated self, researched, and have been trying to learn as much as I can about the entire process.

At this time, I have chosen to go with the sleeve surgery. I have searched over so many different sites, blogs, vlogs and I am amazed at how little I knew about all that goes into this procedure and weight loss journey.

I can get into many details here, but let me just make sure you know the most important one.
For someone to choose to undergo weight loss surgery, that individual has struggled with weight his or her entire lives. I can guarantee you that.

Weight loss surgery isn’t a quick fix, it is a tool. A TOOL I tell you.

I will have to work in order to lose weight and I am sure my PCOS isn’t going to make things any easier.

I grew up being told how overweight I was and that hasn’t changed much.

Fortunately for me, I married someone who loves me for me. For some unknown reason he doesn’t see what I see when I look in the mirror. He supports me and wants me to love myself.

So here I am, planning this process. I went to my primary doctor and told her my concerns. She sent me to a place where she believes would be best for me. I went to their seminar and they called up my insurance. Surprise surprise, my insurance doesn’t cover a single thing when it comes to weight loss. Not even a dietician. The place I was sent to quoted me 45k for my surgery. I don’t know about you, but I don’t have that kind of money.

I did some research and found a bariatric center out west that does procedures with a high rate of success for a much less fee. I’m sure they’ll use my insurance for all of the pre-op medical part of it and then I’ll be pay about 10k out of pocket.

Here we are still trying to figure out how we are going to come up with that money but we are going forward with it. Loan? Credit Card? Go Fund me ? Borrow from 401k? Who knows…..

This is all exciting and scary all at once. I can not wait to embark on this journey and take control back of my life and how I feel.

Weight loss Journey here I come. Count down 52 days.

One comment

  1. Danielle Laughry · January 28, 2019

    Good for you!! I had a gastric sleeve in 2012 so if you need anything please let me know! Even if its just to vent to, i’m here!! You’ll do fantastic!!!

Leave a comment