Pre-Op Prep Day 1 – VSG

We have traveled to Las Vegas to embark in my weight loss journey. The flight went well but it was constant reminder of why I’m doing this. The narrow seat that dug deep into my sides for 3.5 hours was a painful reminder of where I am and where I want to be. By my side my super supportive hubby of course, there with me and for me all the way.

Today ( March 18th) was day one at Blossom’s, even though I have read and re-read everything that they sent me I still felt unprepared.

They sent a driver to pick me up right at my hotel. Once I arrived I was greeted by Dave who was very sweet and caring. He got me checked in and ready for the day ahead. Note to self, the square on the floor right in front of the front desk is a scale lol.

I had a total of 6 stops/visits scheduled for the day. First up I met with the medical assistant and she gathered all my vitals and medical information. As well as a “before” photo that I’ll get to re-look in six months.

Once that was completed, I got to meet with the Lab. There she drew my blood, did an EKG as well as this breathing test that was interesting. I guess it measured how much calories I burn or whatnot and that was then sent to the dietician to analyze.

After all this fun, I got to do the stress test. Now that was “fun”, I got to change into an open gown (no shirt and no bra) and lay on my side. Many many measurements were taken of my heart before leads were added and I got to step on the treadmill. The treadmill itself was interesting, starting with the fact that I was wearing that gown without any support. Once she gathered all of the data needed, we had 90 seconds to gather some more data of the heart after it had been stressed, it was interesting.

The next phase was meeting with the surgeon himself. I met with Dr.Apel and he was awesome. He made me feel very at ease and answered many of my questions. It was really a good meeting.
I got information on what to expect right after surgery, the first 2wks, the first 6 months and from 6-12months. I also received nausea medication, stool softener as well as pain medication.

Shortly after that meeting, I got to meet with my planner. The person who has been helping me with through all this before arriving. There I received information about what to expect for the next two days and how to handle possible problems if there were to arise.

My last stop was with the dietitian. There we talked about my caloric intake needed to lose and maintain weight and what to expect from each and every step of the phases to come after surgery. We honestly had an awesome meeting, it was very informative as well as very friendly.

That was my day. Although it was long, it really didn’t feel like it and it got me feeling even more pumped and ready for the next steps.

Tonight, I’ll be stopping any food/drinks after 8pm in preparation for tomorrow’s EGD testing. I’ll be picked up by 6am and be taken to the surgical center for the test. I’ll update more as each step happens.